God in His providence has two ways of blessing marriages:  one by giving them children; and the other, sometimes, because he loves them so much, by not giving them children.  I don’t know which is the better blessing.  In any event, let one accept his own.

-St. Josemaría Escrivá

a32es1

Today I listened to a Catholic Answers Live podcast entitled “Thank God!”.  It really spoke to me about thanking and praising God in all situations, because we know that our Father loves us dearly.  The guest shared a story from his childhood where he was being teased and bullied.  When it came to the moment where he had nowhere else to turn, he yelled “Dad!” as loud as he could.  He yelled this, because he knew that if his dad heard his voice, his dad would come to him.  He knew this because he really knew his dad.  Do I really know my Father in heaven?  I don’t think that I do.  I don’t think that I truly know my Father in heaven, because if I did then I would know I could cry out to Him and He would be there.  I have God at arm’s length, not sure of how much He loves me because I can’t love like that.

Leave a Reply

