Gomer, Cecilia & the Betrayal of Harlots

Sometimes you come across a word that is seldom used, yet you are very familiar with its meaning.  And so, when this word is used, you are overcome by the deepest essence of what it signifies.

Jubilation; a feeling of great happiness or triumph, ecstasy 

Gomer 

The Word of the Lord came to Hosea… “Go, take a harlot wife and harlot’s children, for the land gives itself to harlotry, turning away from the Lord.”

The book of Hosea is an emotional narrative of love lost and then returned.  Just as Gomer, the wife of Hosea, runs after her lovers, so too has Israel betrayed the Lord their God.

I will go after my lovers,” she said, “who give me my bread and my water, my wool and my flax, my oil and my drink.”

God’s love is so great for Israel, that this betrayal cannot be overlooked.  Betrayal that results in no change can only mean there was no love to begin with.  The love God has for us runs so deep, and so true, that faithlessness can only result in rending his dear heart.  And when God, the essence of all being, grieves, how can his precious creation go on unaffected?

I will punish her for the days of the Baals, for whom she burnt incense while she decked herself out with her rings and her jewels, and, in going after her lovers, forgot me, says the Lord.

But as a true lover, God is always calling us back.  He never leaves us.  Through trials and sufferings God allows us to come upon an epiphany: Nothing exists without God!  In the deserts of our lives we learn to detach from shallow and unfulfilling things, and turn back to our Creator.

So I will allure her; I will lead her into the desert and speak to her heart.

When Israel was a child I loved him, out of Egypt I called my son. …I fostered them like one who raises an infant to his cheeks; Yet, though I stooped to feed my child, they did not know that I was their healer. …How could I give you up… My heart is overwhelmed, my pity is stirred.  I will not give vent to my blazing anger… For I am God and not man, the Holy One present among you; I will not let the flames consume you.

I will heal their defection, I will love them freely; for my wrath is turned away from them.

And so the Lord instructs Hosea to return his adulteress lover, Gomer, who will amend her ways now that she has acquainted herself with the desolation of betrayal.

Many days you shall wait for me; you shall not play the harlot or belong to any man; I in turn will wait for you.

Oh, how God loved Israel, sending prophet after prophet to declare His LOVE.  Oh, how God loves us, loves you, loves me, that he sent His only begotten Son to die for our sins.  Embrace the deserts you travel through as they are blessings in disguise that will lead you back to communion with your Lover, the Lord our God.

Oh, how I have sinned against my Creator!  And, yet, Jesus calls to me from the cross, “I thirst.”  He calls me to the Eucharistic table and then, in an act of freely given love, condescends to allow me to consume His body and blood so that I, who am nothing, can have everlasting life.

Cecilia

Our modern-day narrative to illustrate the jubilation of love returned.

Leave a Reply

